Who we are


Our association is made up of the Music Educators in the State schools of Jefferson and Lewis Counties in New York State.  We also work with parochial schools and private teachers in the area. Our bi-county area, together with St. Lawrence County, to our north, comprises Zone 5 of the New York State School Music Association.  Please visit the NYSSMA page for more information.​


The area is mostly rural but has seen much development in the years since Fort Drum has become the Home of the 10th Mountain Division.  Jefferson and Lewis Counties are located in upstate New York, east of Lake Ontario.  We have one large city school district, and several larger districts impacted by Fort Drum.  Some of our schools are K-12 districts covering comparatively large areas of land.  


We work together to provide festival performance opportunities for our music students. Students meet criteria, prepare challenging repertoire, and then perform for their parents and the public.  This gives students in smaller schools the chance to sing and instruments that expand their musical horizons.


This website is designed to provide information on the public school, music-related events available to students in our bi-county area under the purview of this association, and with the support of our parent organization: N.Y.S.S.M.A.

Thank you for visiting~ As an up-to-date group of professionals, we want to give you the opportunity to stay in touch with our festival information and our scholarship and performance opportunities.

The emphasis of our site is on the opportunities we have to educate students and promote the value of music education and performance in our schools and the community.  This topic is certainly of interest to you. Please continue to check the site for updated information.

If you are not familiar with our association and your first contact with us is online: We would be pleased to hear from you!  We will be more than happy to help with any questions we can answer. Please visit the contact page and leave us a message. We are happy and excited to help however we can.


Member Schools

Alexandria Central Schools

Beaver River Central Schools

Belleville Henderson Central Schools

Carthage Central Schools

Copenhagen Central Schools

Faith Fellowship Christian Schools

General Brown Central Schools

Harrisville Central Schools

Immaculate Heart Central Schools

Indian River Central Schools

LaFargeville Central Schools

Lowville Central Schools

Lyme Central Schools

Sackets Harbor Central Schools

South Lewis Central Schools

Thousand Island Central Schools

Town of Webb Union Free Schools

Watertown Central Schools

Jefferson-Lewis Music Educators Counsel



Ms. Maresa Badour

Carthage Central School District



Mrs. Sara Gleason

Belleville-Henderson Central School District



Mrs. Shelly Peck

LaFargeville Central School District



Mrs. Fran Seymour

General Brown Central School District


Executive Band Chair

Mrs. Andrea Wischerath, Watertown City Schools


Executive Band Chair


Mrs. Connie Bast, South Jefferson Central Schools